Special Education

About Special Education

Priority Charter Schools (PCS) believe that all scholars are entitled to educational opportunities in which they can thrive academically, socially, and emotionally. Special Education provides scholars with identified disabilities specialized instruction designed to meet their unique learning needs, giving them the opportunity to develop to their fullest potential. The goal of special education is to ensure that scholars who have any of these disabilities can take part in education along with scholars without disabilities and can access the curriculum whenever and as much as possible.

Texas uses the following list of 13 disability categories to determine if a student (age 3-21) is eligible for special education and related services:

  • Deaf /Hard of Hearing (DHH) (formerly called Auditory Impairment)
  • Autism (AU)
  • Deaf-Blindness (DB)
  • Emotional Disturbance (ED)
  • Intellectual Disability (ID) (formerly called Mental Retardation)
  • Multiple Disabilities (MD)
  • Orthopedic Impairment (OI)
  • Other Health Impairment (OHI)
  • Specific Learning Disability (SLD)
  • Speech Impairment (SI)
  • Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI)
  • Visual Impairment (VI)
  • Non-Categorical Early Childhood (NCEC)
Karen Sykes
For all other information
Karen Sykes, Special Services Director

Quick Links